This is not theater by Antje Schupp

This is not theatre, this is a f*** protest!

Carrie Shelver and Antje Schupp combine creative protest and performance strategies. In their project «This is not theatre, this is a f*** protest!» they look into what happens when a creative political activist and a political creative artist combine their knowledge. Together, they examine the question of the extent to which protest can be presented and how protest strategies can be incorporated into art. Could this result in an event that completely blurs the boundaries between performance and protest? The «audience» becomes the «participants» and the «show» is transformed into a «workshop» that could at the end become a «protest». The third fellow protestor is scenographer Christoph Rufer, who organises the work process as an exhibition. 

Carrie Shelver is a committed feminist, activist and human rights defender with over 20 years of experience. She is a creative thinker and loves the challenge of finding new solutions to existing problems. Among other experience, she spent many years working in the area of gender-specific violence in South Africa and other countries in the south of the continent such as Zimbabwe, Angola, Malawi and Mozambique. For two years, Carrie has been working at Sexual Rights Initiative, a feminist coalition working to advance human rights related to sexuality at the United Nations. 

Antje Schupp is a director, performer and author. She is interested in political theatre, stages multidisciplinary performances and works in international coproductions as well as with non-professional performers. Antje’s performances have been shown at venues such as Theater Basel, Schauspielhaus Zürich, Theater am Neumarkt Zürich, Kaserne Basel and Staatstheater Augsburg. Her works have been showcased at the Berliner Theatertreffen festival «Shifting Perspectives», Festival Antigel, the Politik im Freien Theater festival and Impulse Theater Festival. Antje Schupp was a prize winner at Festspiele Zürich 2020.

Christoph Rufer lives in Berlin and Zurich, where he studied scenographical design at the Zurich University of the Arts from 2002 to 2006. From 2005 to 2009, he worked as a stage assistant at the Schaubühne am Lehniner Platz theatre and then joined Thalia Theater Hamburg until 2011. He has been a freelance stage and costume designer since 2011, working with artists such as Lars Eidinger, Schorsch Kamerun, Johannes v. Matuschka, Anne Habermehl and Alia Luque. He works with Antje Schupp on an ongoing basis in a wide range of project constellations. Outside of this theatre work, Christoph Rufer pursues his own projects in the areas of design and interior decorating.

The collaboration between Carrie, Antje and Christoph is focused on merging art and activism in the best possible way. They apply feminist working methods, facilitate artistic involvement and expand their knowledge of political work to (un)civil society.

More information

www.antjeschupp.de

Concept, performance, workshop: Antje Schupp, Carrie Shelver Scenography: Christoph Rufer Colleagues: tba Supported by: m2act – The funding and network project of the Migros Culture Percentage initiative that supports the performing arts

Image: © Antje Schupp

This is not theater by Antje Schupp

This is not theatre, this is a f*** protest!

Carrie Shelver und Antje Schupp verbinden kreative Strategien von Protest und Performance. In ihrem Projekt «This is not theatre, this is a f*** protest!» untersuchen sie, was passiert, wenn eine kreative politische Aktivistin und eine politische Kreativschaffende ihr Wissen zusammenführen. Gemeinsam gehen sie der Frage nach, wie weit man Protest inszenieren und Proteststrategien in die Kunst einfliessen lassen kann. Vielleicht entsteht dadurch ein Ereignis, das die Grenzen zwischen «Performance» und «Protest» völlig verwischt? Das «Publikum» wird zu «Teilnehmer*innen» und die «Show» verwandelt sich in einen «Workshop», der am Ende zu einem «Protest» werden könnte. Dritter Mitstreiter ist der Szenograph Christoph Rufer, der den Arbeitsprozess als Ausstellung realisiert.

Carrie Shelver ist engagierte Feministin, Aktivistin und Menschenrechtlerin mit über zwanzig Jahren Erfahrung. Sie ist eine kreative Denkerin und liebt die Herausforderung, neue Lösungen für bestehende Probleme zu finden. Unter anderem arbeitete sie lange im Bereich der genderspezifischen Gewalt in Südafrika sowie in anderen Ländern im Südlichen Afrika wie Zimbabwe, Angola, Malawi oder Mozambique. Seit zwei Jahren arbeitet Carrie bei der Sexual Rights Initiative, einer feministischen Koalition, die sich für sexuelle Rechte auf der Ebene der UNO Menschenrechte einsetzt.  

Antje Schupp ist Regisseurin, Performerin und Autorin. Sie interessiert sich für politisches Theater, inszeniert spartenübergreifend und arbeitet in internationalen Koproduktionen sowie auch mit nicht-professionellen Darsteller*innen. Inszenierungen von Schupp waren unter anderem am Theater Basel, Schauspielhaus Zürich, Theater am Neumarkt Zürich, an der Kaserne Basel oder am Staatstheater Augsburg zu sehen. Sie zeigte ihre Arbeiten an den Festivals Berliner Theatertreffen „Shifting Perspectives“, Antigel Genf, Politik im Freien Theater oder Impulse Theater Festival. Antje Schupp ist Preisträgerin der Festspiele Zürich 2020.

Christoph Rufer lebt in Berlin und Zürich und studierte von 2002 bis 2006 Scenographical Design an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste. Von 2005 bis 2009 war er als Ausstattungsassistent an der Berliner Schaubühne am Lehniner Platz und anschließend bis 2011 am Thalia Theater Hamburg engagiert. Seit 2011 ist er freischaffender Bühnen- und Kostümbildner und arbeitete mit Künstlern wie Lars Eidinger, Schorsch Kamerun, Johannes v. Matuschka, Anne Habermehl und Alia Luque zusammen. Mit Antje Schupp verbindet ihn inzwischen eine kontinuierliche Zusammenarbeit in unterschiedlichsten Projektkonstellationen. Über die Arbeit am Theater hinaus arbeitet Christoph Rufer an eigenen Projekten in den Bereichen Design und Innenarchitektur.

In ihrer Zusammenarbeit streben Shelver, Schupp und Rufer nach der bestmöglichen gemeinsamen Praxis von Kunst und Aktivismus. Sie wenden feministische Arbeitsmethoden an, ermöglichen künstlerische Mitgestaltung und weiten ihr Wissen über politische Arbeit in die (Un-)Zivilgesellschaft aus.

Mehr Informationen

www.antjeschupp.de

Konzept, Performance, Workshop: Antje Schupp, Carrie Shelver Szenografie: Christoph Rufer Mitarbeitende: tba Unterstützt von: m2act – Das Förder- und Netzwerkprojekt des Migros-Kulturprozent für die Darstellenden Künste

Bild: © Antje Schupp