This is not theater by Antje Schupp

This is not theatre, this is a f*** protest!

Carrie Shelver and Antje Schupp combine creative protest and performance strategies. In their project «This is not theatre, this is a f*** protest!» they look into what happens when a creative political activist and a political creative artist combine their knowledge. Together, they examine the question of the extent to which protest can be presented and how protest strategies can be incorporated into art. Could this result in an event that completely blurs the boundaries between performance and protest? The «audience» becomes the «participants» and the «show» is transformed into a «workshop» that could at the end become a «protest». The third fellow protestor is scenographer Christoph Rufer, who organises the work process as an exhibition. 

Carrie Shelver is a committed feminist, activist and human rights defender with over 20 years of experience. She is a creative thinker and loves the challenge of finding new solutions to existing problems. Among other experience, she spent many years working in the area of gender-specific violence in South Africa and other countries in the south of the continent such as Zimbabwe, Angola, Malawi and Mozambique. For two years, Carrie has been working at Sexual Rights Initiative, a feminist coalition working to advance human rights related to sexuality at the United Nations. 

Antje Schupp is a director, performer and author. She is interested in political theatre, stages multidisciplinary performances and works in international coproductions as well as with non-professional performers. Antje’s performances have been shown at venues such as Theater Basel, Schauspielhaus Zürich, Theater am Neumarkt Zürich, Kaserne Basel and Staatstheater Augsburg. Her works have been showcased at the Berliner Theatertreffen festival «Shifting Perspectives», Festival Antigel, the Politik im Freien Theater festival and Impulse Theater Festival. Antje Schupp was a prize winner at Festspiele Zürich 2020.

Christoph Rufer lives in Berlin and Zurich, where he studied scenographical design at the Zurich University of the Arts from 2002 to 2006. From 2005 to 2009, he worked as a stage assistant at the Schaubühne am Lehniner Platz theatre and then joined Thalia Theater Hamburg until 2011. He has been a freelance stage and costume designer since 2011, working with artists such as Lars Eidinger, Schorsch Kamerun, Johannes v. Matuschka, Anne Habermehl and Alia Luque. He works with Antje Schupp on an ongoing basis in a wide range of project constellations. Outside of this theatre work, Christoph Rufer pursues his own projects in the areas of design and interior decorating.

The collaboration between Carrie, Antje and Christoph is focused on merging art and activism in the best possible way. They apply feminist working methods, facilitate artistic involvement and expand their knowledge of political work to (un)civil society.

More information

www.antjeschupp.de

Concept, performance, workshop: Antje Schupp, Carrie Shelver Scenography: Christoph Rufer Colleagues: tba Supported by: m2act – The funding and network project of the Migros Culture Percentage initiative that supports the performing arts

Image: © Antje Schupp

This is not theater by Antje Schupp

This is not theatre, this is a f*** protest!

Carrie Shelver et Antje Schupp conjuguent des stratégies créatives propres à la rébellion et à la performance. Dans leur projet «This is not theatre, this is a f*** protest!», elles explorent ce qui se passe lorsqu’une activiste politique créative est une artiste politique mettent leurs connaissances en commun. Ensemble, elles essayent de trouver des réponses à la question de savoir jusqu’où l’on peut mettre en scène la rébellion et utiliser des stratégies protestataires dans l’art. Le résultat auquel elles aboutissent effacera-t-il peut-être complètement les frontières entre «performance» et «rébellion»? Le «public» devient «participant·e·s» et le «spectacle« se transforme en «atelier» qui pourrait bien finir en «rébellion». Troisième complice, le scénographe Christoph Rufer, réalise une exposition sur la base du processus de travail

Carrie Shelver est une féministe engagée, une activiste et une défenseure des droits de l’homme depuis plus de 20 ans. Penseuse créative, elle aime relever le défi de trouver de nouvelles solutions à des problèmes connus. Elle a longtemps travaillé dans le domaine de la violence spécifique au genre en Afrique du Sud ainsi que dans d’autres pays d’Afrique australe tels que le Zimbabwe, l’Angola, le Malawi et le Mozambique. Depuis deux ans, Carrie travaille pour la Sexual Rights Initiative, une coalition féministe qui milite pour l’avancement des droits relatifs au genre et à la sexualité au sein du système des droits de la personne de l’ONU. 

Antje Schupp est metteuse en scène, performeuse et auteure. Elle s’intéresse au théâtre politique, recourt à diverses disciplines dans ses mises en scène, participe à des coproductions internationales et travaille avec des acteur·trice·s amateurs. Ses mises en scène ont, entre autres, été présentées sur les scènes du Theater Basel, du Schauspielhaus Zürich, du Theater am Neumarkt Zürich, de la Kaserne Basel ainsi que du Staatstheater Augsburg. Elle a par ailleurs présenté son travail aux festivals Berliner Theatertreffen «Shifting Perspectives», Antigel à Genève, «Politik im Freien Theater» ou encore Impulse Theater Festival. Antje Schupp est lauréate du festival Festspiele Zürich 2020.

Christoph Rufer vit entre Berlin et Zurich. De 2002 à 2006, il a étudié la scénographie à la Haute école des arts de Zurich. Il a fait ses armes comme assistant scénographe à la Berliner Schaubühne am Lehniner Platz de 2005 à 2009, avant d’être engagé au Thalia Theater Hamburg, où il est resté jusqu’en 2011. Depuis lors, il est scénographe et costumier indépendant et travaille avec des artistes tels que Lars Eidinger, Schorsch Kamerun, Johannes v. Matuschka, Anne Habermehl et Alia Luque. De fréquentes collaborations, dans des constellations des plus diverses, avec Antje Schupp jalonnent par ailleurs sa carrière. En parallèle à ses activités pour le théâtre, Christoph Rufer développe ses propres projets dans les domaines du design et de l’architecture d’intérieur.

Dans le cadre de leur collaboration, Carrie Shelver, Antje Schupp et Christoph Rufer recherchent la meilleure pratique pour allier l’art avec l’activisme. Elles recourent à des méthodes de travail féministes, s’ouvrent à la participation artistique et élargissent leurs connaissances sur le travail politique au sein de la société (in-)civile.

Plus d’informations

www.antjeschupp.de

Concept, performance, atelier: Antje Schupp, Carrie Shelver Scénographie: Christoph Rufer Collaboration: tba Avec le soutien de: m2act – le projet de soutien et de mise en réseau du Pour-cent culturel Migros pour les arts scéniques

Image: ©Antje Schupp