Glossary m2act

The explanations in this glossary are not based on a dogmatic but on a dynamic understanding of terms: the meaning of the terms will continue to be explored and developed through the activities and projects. They will ultimately be defined in terms of ‘lived examples’.

FAIR PRACTICE

Collaboration and behaviour are based on fairness, social and gender-based justice, solidarity, inclusion and sustainability. This is reflected in the wage policies, processes, structures, basic principles and appropriate remuneration for all participants. Fair practice highlights the importance of a good work-life balance and of being mindful towards yourself and others. Fair practice in the performing arts means being aware of your own role, acting appropriately and making an effort to ensure artists and the public work towards creating a just and sustainable society. Fair practice is a basic condition and an integral part of any activity, cooperation and project funding that takes place as part of m2act.

CULTURAL CO-CREATION

Within the context of m2act, cultural co-creation defines cooperation between participants who are on an equal footing. These cultural projects may already be in the development phase and/or implemented. The key focus is on projects which are developed and realised by artists and/or cultural institutions in equal partnership with specialists from other areas in accordance with their specific competencies and expertise. This allows artistic working methods to be combined with practical and/or scientific methods and approaches from other fields and disciplines, including social aspects, economics, society, research, science and politics. Cooperation at the interfaces between different fields in terms of the processes and the formats that are created offers a huge amount of potential to create high-quality and innovative cultural work.

SUSTAINABLE STRUCTURES

Basic parameters, processes and work contexts need to be sustainable. They are focused towards principles of fair practice and are based on dealing with environmental, economic and human resources in a responsible way. Acting sustainably within the performing arts means protecting the environment, creating fair and inclusive working conditions and managing financial resources in a mindful way. At the same time artists involve the public in these efforts and provide information transparently. Sustainable structures play an important role in raising environmental awareness in the performing arts and help to improve social and economic conditions for the artists. They create the basic conditions, which help to embed the performing arts more firmly in society and make them more relevant.

ACCESSIBLE KNOWLEDGE TRANSFER

Transferring and exchanging knowledge and experiences openly and without the need for remuneration are a core part of m2act’s DNA. This occurs in various creative, laboratory-style and discursive formats and projects using a variety of methods. Insights and results are shared, documented and made freely available to others to be further used and developed. Accessible knowledge transfer takes place between experts and interested parties, between specialists in different fields and between artists and the public. It is the core and the prerequisite for co-creative cooperation. It facilitates collective learning on equal terms. Accessible knowledge transfer – especially in terms of and as a basis for fair practice – supports structures, working methods and processes in the performing arts and enables them to be changed in a forward-looking and sustainable way.

Glossar m2act

Den Ausführungen in diesem Glossar liegt kein dogmatisches, sondern ein dynamisches Begriffsverständnis zugrunde: Die Begriffe werden über Aktivitäten und Projekte weitergedacht und weiterentwickelt und finden darin ihre Verwirklichung als «gelebte Beispiele».

Faire Praxis

Zusammenarbeit und Verhalten basieren auf Gleichberechtigung, sozialer und genderspezifischer Gerechtigkeit, Solidarität, Inklusion sowie Nachhaltigkeit. Dies widerspiegelt sich in der Lohnpolitik, in Prozessen, Strukturen und Rahmenbedingungen sowie in der angemessenen Entschädigung aller Beteiligten. Faire Praxis legt Wert auf ein ausgewogenes Verhältnis zwischen Berufs- und Familienleben und auf Achtsamkeit sich selbst und anderen gegenüber. Faire Praxis in den Darstellenden Künsten bedeutet, sich der eigenen Rolle bewusst zu sein, entsprechend zu handeln und sich dafür zu engagieren, dass sich Kulturschaffende und Publikum für eine sozial gerechte und nachhaltige Gesellschaft einsetzen. Faire Praxis ist Grundbedingung und fester Bestandteil jeglicher Aktivität, Zusammenarbeit und Förderung von Projekten im Rahmen von m2act.

Kulturelle Ko-Kreation

Im Kontext von m2act steht kulturelle Ko-Kreation für die Zusammenarbeit gleichberechtigter Akteur*innen bereits im Entstehungsprozess und/oder in der Umsetzung kultureller Vorhaben. Im Fokus stehen Projekte, die von Kulturschaffenden und/oder Kulturinstitutionen gemeinsam und paritätisch mit Spezialist*innen aus anderen Bereichen gemäss ihren spezifischen Expertisen und Fähigkeiten entwickelt und realisiert werden. Dabei werden künstlerische Arbeitsweisen mit praxisorientierten und/oder wissenschaftlichen Methoden und Herangehensweisen aus anderen Sparten und Bereichen wie Soziales, Wirtschaft Gesellschaft, Forschung, Wissenschaft und Politik verbunden. Die Zusammenarbeit an den Schnittstellen verschiedener Bereiche birgt sowohl in Bezug auf die Prozesse als auch auf die dabei entstehenden Formate grosses Potenzial für qualitativ hochstehendes und innovatives Kulturschaffen.

Nachhaltige Strukturen

Rahmenbedingungen, Prozesse und Arbeitszusammenhänge müssen zukunftsfähig sein. Sie orientieren sich an den Prinzipien einer fairen Praxis und beruhen auf einem verantwortungsvollen Umgang mit ökologischen, ökonomischen und personellen Ressourcen. Nachhaltiges Handeln in den Darstellenden Künsten bedeutet, die Umwelt zu schonen, faire und inklusive Arbeitsbedingungen zu schaffen und mit finanziellen Mitteln bewusst umzugehen. Gleichzeitig beziehen die Kulturschaffenden das Publikum in diese Anstrengungen mit ein und informieren transparent. Nachhaltige Strukturen leisten einen wichtigen Beitrag auf dem Weg zu einem ökologischen Bewusstsein in den Darstellenden Künsten und zur Verbesserung der sozioökonomischen Situation der Kulturschaffenden. Sie schaffen die Grundbedingungen für eine gestärkte Verankerung und Relevanz der Darstellenden Künste in der Gesellschaft.

Offener Wissenstransfer

Das offene und unentgeltliche Weitergeben und Austauschen von Erfahrungen und Erkenntnissen ist Teil der DNA von m2act. Dies geschieht in unterschiedlichen künstlerischen, laborartigen und diskursiven Formaten und Projekten sowie auf Basis verschiedener Methoden. Einblicke und Ergebnisse werden geteilt, dokumentiert und für andere zur freien Weiterverwendung und -entwicklung zugänglich gemacht. Offener Wissenstransfer findet zwischen Expert*innen und Interessierten, zwischen Spezialist*innen in unterschiedlichen Bereichen sowie zwischen Künstler*innen und Publikum statt. Er ist Kern und Voraussetzung für ko-kreative Zusammenarbeit und ermöglicht ein gemeinsames und paritätisches Lernen. Offener Wissenstransfer – insbesondere zu und als Basis von fairer Praxis – ermöglicht und unterstützt einen zukunftsorientierten und nachhaltigen Wandel von Strukturen, Arbeitsweisen und Prozessen in den Darstellenden Künsten.