Glossary m2act

The explanations in this glossary are not based on a dogmatic but on a dynamic understanding of terms: the meaning of the terms will continue to be explored and developed through the activities and projects. They will ultimately be defined in terms of ‘lived examples’.

FAIR PRACTICE

Collaboration and behaviour are based on fairness, social and gender-based justice, solidarity, inclusion and sustainability. This is reflected in the wage policies, processes, structures, basic principles and appropriate remuneration for all participants. Fair practice highlights the importance of a good work-life balance and of being mindful towards yourself and others. Fair practice in the performing arts means being aware of your own role, acting appropriately and making an effort to ensure artists and the public work towards creating a just and sustainable society. Fair practice is a basic condition and an integral part of any activity, cooperation and project funding that takes place as part of m2act.

CULTURAL CO-CREATION

Within the context of m2act, cultural co-creation defines cooperation between participants who are on an equal footing. These cultural projects may already be in the development phase and/or implemented. The key focus is on projects which are developed and realised by artists and/or cultural institutions in equal partnership with specialists from other areas in accordance with their specific competencies and expertise. This allows artistic working methods to be combined with practical and/or scientific methods and approaches from other fields and disciplines, including social aspects, economics, society, research, science and politics. Cooperation at the interfaces between different fields in terms of the processes and the formats that are created offers a huge amount of potential to create high-quality and innovative cultural work.

SUSTAINABLE STRUCTURES

Basic parameters, processes and work contexts need to be sustainable. They are focused towards principles of fair practice and are based on dealing with environmental, economic and human resources in a responsible way. Acting sustainably within the performing arts means protecting the environment, creating fair and inclusive working conditions and managing financial resources in a mindful way. At the same time artists involve the public in these efforts and provide information transparently. Sustainable structures play an important role in raising environmental awareness in the performing arts and help to improve social and economic conditions for the artists. They create the basic conditions, which help to embed the performing arts more firmly in society and make them more relevant.

ACCESSIBLE KNOWLEDGE TRANSFER

Transferring and exchanging knowledge and experiences openly and without the need for remuneration are a core part of m2act’s DNA. This occurs in various creative, laboratory-style and discursive formats and projects using a variety of methods. Insights and results are shared, documented and made freely available to others to be further used and developed. Accessible knowledge transfer takes place between experts and interested parties, between specialists in different fields and between artists and the public. It is the core and the prerequisite for co-creative cooperation. It facilitates collective learning on equal terms. Accessible knowledge transfer – especially in terms of and as a basis for fair practice – supports structures, working methods and processes in the performing arts and enables them to be changed in a forward-looking and sustainable way.

Glossaire

Les explications de ce glossaire sont fondées sur une compréhension dynamique et non dogmatique des termes: des activités et des projets permettent d’approfondir et de développer les concepts et de les mettre en œuvre comme des «exemples vécus».

Pratique égalitaire

La collaboration et les comportements sont fondés sur l’égalité, la justice sociale et entre les sexes, la solidarité, l’inclusion et la durabilité. Cela se reflète dans la politique salariale, dans les processus, les structures et les conditions-cadres ainsi que dans la rémunération appropriée de toutes les parties concernées. Les pratiques égalitaires mettent l’accent sur l’équilibre entre le travail et la vie familiale et sur l’attention portée à soi-même et aux autres. Une pratique égalitaire dans les arts scéniques signifie être conscient∙e de son rôle, agir en conséquence et s’engager à ce que les acteur∙rice∙s culturel∙le∙s et le public prennent conscience de la mise en œuvre d’une société juste du point de vue social et durable. La pratique égalitaire est une condition de base et fait partie intégrante de toutes les activités, de la collaboration et de la promotion des projets dans le cadre de m2act.

Co-création culturelle

Dans le cadre de m2act, la co-création culturelle signifie la collaboration d’égal à égal entre acteur∙rice∙s déjà impliqué∙e∙s dans un processus de développement et/ou de mise en œuvre de projets culturels. Nous mettons l’accent sur des projets qui sont développés et réalisés par des acteur∙rice∙s culturel∙le∙s et/ou des institutions culturelles en collaboration et paritairement avec des spécialistes d’autres domaines, en fonction de leurs compétences et de leur expertise spécifiques. Des manières de travailler artistiques sont combinées avec des méthodes et des approches pratiques et/ou scientifiques provenant d’autres catégories et domaines tels que les affaires sociales, l’économie, la société, la recherche, la science et la politique. La collaboration à l’interface entre différents domaines présente un grand potentiel de création culturelle de haute qualité et innovante, tant en termes des processus que des formats qui en résultent.

Structures durables

Les conditions-cadres, les processus et l’environnement de travail doivent être durables. Ils se basent sur les principes de la pratique égalitaire et sur l’utilisation responsable des ressources écologiques, économiques et humaines. Agir de manière durable dans les arts scéniques signifie respecter l’environnement, créer des conditions de travail équitables et inclusives et gérer consciemment les ressources financières. En même temps, les acteur∙rice∙s culturel∙le∙s impliquent le public dans leurs efforts et informent de manière transparente. Des structures durables apportent une contribution importante à la prise de conscience écologique dans les arts scéniques et à l’amélioration de la situation socio-économique des acteur∙rice∙s culturel∙le∙s. Ces structures créent les conditions de base pour un meilleur ancrage et une plus grande pertinence des arts scéniques dans la société.

Transfert ouvert de connaissances

Le partage et l’échange ouverts et libres d’expériences et de connaissances font partie de l’ADN de m2act. Cela se fait sous différents formats et projets artistiques, exploratoires et discursifs, ainsi que sur la base de diverses méthodes. Des aperçus et des résultats sont partagés, traités et mis à disposition des parties intéressées pour une utilisation et un développement ultérieurs libres. Le transfert ouvert de connaissances s’effectue entre des expert∙e∙s et des parties intéressées, entre des spécialistes de différents domaines et entre des artistes et le public. Ce transfert est le noyau et la condition préalable à la collaboration co-créative et permet un apprentissage commun et paritaire. Le transfert ouvert de connaissances – en particulier en vue et comme base d’une pratique égalitaire – permet et soutient un changement durable et orienté vers l’avenir des structures, des méthodes de travail et des processus dans les arts scéniques.