Family*business: Kunstarbeit und Carework

The initiators of this project idea are mothers working in various roles in the theatre industry. Time and again, it seems to them as if their need to reconcile family and work is not compatible with the structural conditions of theatre houses, the working mentality of certain professional groups and the generally rigid systems in place within companies.  
 
As a result, they are constantly left feeling powerless and asking themselves: “Can I, as a mother, continue to work at and in the theatre, and do I even want to?” This is what the initiators are hoping to change – for mothers, for fathers and for those looking after their elderly parents.  
 
In collaboration with people from other sectors, such as politics, they are in the process of developing a platform with a view to creating new conditions, putting forward proposals and implementing ideas – all with the aim of reconciling care work and artistic roles. 

People involved

Mirjam Berger, theatre professional, Organisation Committee, Bern

Nina Langensand, performance/film/theatre professional, Organisation Committee, Lucerne/Geneva

Vera Bommer, actress, FemaleAct member, Organisation Committee, Basel

Ute Sengebusch, theatre professional, t.Punkt Chair, Organisation Committee, Basel,

Ledwina Siegrist, gender researcher and politician / employee at the human rights organisation Brava – formerly TERRE DES FEMMES Schweiz and lecturer, advisory function/Organisation Committee, Basel

Image: ©Mirjam Berger

Keine*r wird besser ohne Pause

Die Initiantinnen dieser Projektidee sind Frauen mit Kindern, die im Theaterbereich in unterschiedlichen Funktionen arbeiten. Immer wieder müssen sie feststellen, dass ihr Anspruch auf Vereinbarkeit von Familie und Beruf scheinbar nicht kompatibel ist mit den strukturellen Bedingungen der Theaterhäuser, der Arbeitsmentalität bestimmter Freier Gruppen und den allgemein festgefahrenen Systemen in Firmen.  
 
So kommt immer wieder ein ohnmächtiges Gefühl auf, dass jede Einzelne zwingt, über die Frage nachzudenken: „Kann und will ich als Mutter überhaupt weiterhin am und im Theater arbeiten?“. Das möchten sie verändern. Für Mütter, für Väter, für Kinder, die sich um ihre betagten Eltern kümmern. 
 
In Zusammenarbeit mit Menschen aus anderen Bereichen wie z.B. der Politik streben sie die Entwicklung einer Plattform an. In deren Rahmen erarbeiten sie neue Bedingungen, machen Vorschläge und setzen Ideen, um mit dem einen Ziel: Care-Arbeit und künstlerische Arbeit müssen sich nicht ausschliessen.

Beteiligte Personen

Mirjam Berger, Theaterschaffende, OK (Organisationskomitee), Bern

Nina Langensand, Performance/Film/Theater-Schaffende, OK, Luzern/Genf

Vera Bommer, Schauspielerin, female act Mitglied, OK, Basel

Ute Sengebusch, Theaterschaffende, Vorsitz t.punkt, OK, Basel

Ledwina Siegrist, Geschlechterforscherin und Politikerin / Mitarbeiterin bei der Menschenrechtsorganisation Brava – ehemals TERRE DES FEMMES Schweiz und Lehrbeauftragte, Beratende Funktion/OK, Basel

Bild: ©Mirjam Berger